One of the most significant procedures performed after a diagnosis of liver cancer is staging. The degree of cancer and how far it has spread is referred to as staging. The staging of liver cancer is crucial because it allows doctors to decide the type of treatment that is required.

The TNM staging system is used to determine the stage of liver cancer.

The following elements are included in the TNM staging system:

Tumour (T): This indicates how large cancer has grown, whether there are several tumours in the liver, and whether cancer has spread to neighbouring organs such as the veins.

This component shows whether or not the malignancy has progressed to the lymph nodes.

The term "metastasis" refers to whether cancer has spread to other places of the body.

The results of biopsies, physical exams, and imaging studies are commonly used to determine the stage of liver cancer. The pathological status is assessed if surgery is performed by evaluating the tissue that was removed during the procedure.

Stages of liver cancer classification

There are four stages of liver cancer, which are given below:

1st stage

Cancer has not spread to the blood vessels and there is only a single tumour at this stage, often known as the earliest stage of liver cancer. Stage 1 is broken into two parts: stage 1a and state 1b.

Stage 2

The single tumour has migrated into the liver's blood arteries at stage 2.

Stage 3

Stage 3 is a step up from stage 2 and consists of two substages: stage 3a and stage 3b, each of which describes how big the tumour has grown and how far the disease has spread.

Stage 4

The most advanced stage of liver cancer is stage 4, which is separated into two parts: stage 4a and stage 4b, and is also known as metastatic liver cancer.